Arc Review – The Crown’s Fate by Evelyn Skye

Leave a comment

May 15, 2017 by ceresbooksworld

 

The crown’s Fate by Evelyn Skye

Book two in The Crown’s game

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Publication date: May 16th, 2017

Source: eArc from the publisher

Rating: 3 hearts

 

 

Synopsis (from goodreads)

Perfect for fans of Shadow and Bone and Red QueenThe Crown’s Fate is the thrilling sequel to the New York Times bestselling The Crown’s Game, an atmospheric historical fantasy set in Imperial Russia.

Russia is on the brink of great change. Pasha’s coronation approaches, and Vika is now the Imperial Enchanter, but the role she once coveted may be more difficult—and dangerous—than she ever expected.

Pasha is grappling with his own problems—his legitimacy is in doubt, the girl he loves loathes him, and he believes his best friend is dead. When a challenger to the throne emerges—and with the magic in Russia growing rapidly—Pasha must do whatever it takes to keep his position and protect his kingdom.

For Nikolai, the ending of the Crown’s Game stung deeply. Although he just managed to escape death, Nikolai remains alone, a shadow hidden in a not-quite-real world of his own creation. But when he’s given a second chance at life—tied to a dark price—Nikolai must decide just how far he’s willing to go to return to the world.

With revolution on the rise, dangerous new magic rearing up, and a tsardom up for the taking, Vika, Nikolai, and Pasha must fight—or face the destruction of not only their world but also themselves.

Review

The crown’s fate picked up where the first book left off. Nikolai is trapped on the bench and Vika is the new Imperial Enchanter. She didn’t forgive Pasha the end of the game, she missed Nikolai and she realizes that she isn’t as free with her magic as she hoped. She now wears a bracelet that burns her if she doesn’t obey the orders of Pasha or Yuliana. Pasha feels guilty for the death of Nikolai, he tries to be a good Tsar but Nikolai will spoil everything by threatening to take the throne.

Vika was much more likeable in this story and really showed her true colors. She loves Nikolai and she’s trying to save him. It’s not always easy because she must obey the Tsar but she’s finding loophole. At a certain point of the book I was so sad for her because magic is all she had and I can’t imagine what she must feel.

Nikolai was definitely changed, to the point where he was almost unrecognizable. The transfer of his mother’s powers gives him her darkness too, at first he fight it but after the darkness became a part of him. I enjoyed Nikolai being darker and dealing with his evil mother Aizhana, finally coming to terms with the consequences of her actions.

Pasha seemed more serious about his role and becoming Tsar, he’s preparing for his coronation as the Tsar and his sister, the manipulative Yuliana, does everything to make sure he will have his coronation. She’s an interesting character, at first I didn’t like her but in the end the only thing she wants is the happiness of her country and of her brother. To do that she must be a ruthless princess who is feared and respected.

I enjoyed the Imperial Russian fantasy setting and the magic even if it was less magical than the first book. I liked the detail with the Imperial setting, the dances, the food, the landscapes, now I want to visit Russia someday.

It was a nice conclusion to duology; it was sad, happy, infuriating and heartbreaking. So many things happened with all the characters. I didn’t really see a love triangle in the story but it’s probably because I was for Nikolai since the first book. The plot is good but I feel that the crown’s game was more magical than the crown’s fate. The end is a bit rushed and the war stopped very soon as if only one people can change the way many sees the world.

Quick word: A nice conclusion to the duology in a beautiful Imperial Russia.

About the author

Evelyn Skye is the NEW YORK TIMES Bestselling author of THE CROWN’S GAME and its sequel, THE CROWN’S FATE. Evelyn was once offered a job by the C.I.A., she not-so-secretly wishes she was on “So You Think You Can Dance,” and if you challenge her to a pizza-eating contest, she guarantees she will win. When she isn’t writing, Evelyn can be found chasing her daughter on the playground or sitting on the couch, immersed in a good book and eating way too many cookies. She can be found online at www.evelynskye.com and on Twitter @EvelynSkyeYA.

 

Amazon Goodreads

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Currently Reading

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 103 other followers

Windwitch Street team – Waterwitch Babes

Inks & Scratches Literary Magazine

2016 Finishing the Series Challenge

2016 Retelling Challenge

NetGalley Challenge

Challenge Participant

Xpresso

Xpresso Book Tours
%d bloggers like this: