Arc review – Lucky Girl by Amanda Maciel

Leave a comment

April 25, 2017 by ceresbooksworld

 

Lucky Girl by Amanda Maciel

Standalone

Publisher: Balzer & Bray

Publication date: April 25th, 2017

Source: eArc from Xpresso Book Tour

Rating: 4 hearts

 

 

Synopsis

Lucky Girl is an unflinching exploration of beauty, sexual assault, and self-worth, from the author of the acclaimed novel Tease. Perfect for readers of Sara Zarr and Courtney Summers.

Being a pretty girl is who Rosie is, but it’s the start of a new school year and she wants to be more. Namely, she’s determined to be better to her best friend, Maddie, who’s just back from a summer program abroad having totally blossomed into her own looks. Rosie isn’t thrilled when Maddie connects with a football player who Rosie was hooking up with—but if it makes her friend happy, she’s prepared to move on. Plus someone even more interesting has moved to town: Alex, who recently garnered public attention after he stopped a classmate from carrying out a shooting rampage at his old high school. Rosie is drawn to Alex in a way she’s never really experienced for a boy before—and she is surprised to discover that, unlike every other guy, he seems to see more to her than her beauty.

Then one night, in the midst of a devastating storm, Rosie suffers an assault that tears apart her life and friendship with Maddie. Forced to face uncomfortable truths about beauty, reputation, and what it really means to be a friend, Rosie realizes that change doesn’t always happen the way you want it to—every disaster has consequences. But with a lot of help and the right people around you, there might also be a way forward.

Review

I have so many feelings about this book, the story was good, Rosie is not a character I love but I recognize myself in her and that’s probably why I feel some hard feelings about her. I was “no don’t do that, it’s stupid, what do you do to yourself” all along the book but that was because the story speaks to me, I lived that and I made the same mistakes as her.

Rosie is a beautiful girl, she can have all the boy she wants, and she like that, she laugh with them, let them be boys with her. A lot of girl would say that she is a slut and that’s not what it is but sadly when something bad happens to her, she doesn’t know what to think. She doesn’t tell anyone because just now she realizes that people may think of her as a bitch who deserves everything and who search boys for it.

Maddie is Rosie’s best friend and I can say that I like her too, she came back from Spain and she had changed. This isn’t the first girl teenager who changed and wants to party more and have a boyfriend, but Rosie is jealous. I had a problem with Maddie because she flirted with Rosie’s boyfriend and I don’t think that’s good. In the end she is a better friend and I like her more.

Alex is the male character with importance, he is shy and cool, and his reasons to be secretive are revealed near the end. I love him, he is sweet and kind, he tries to be friend with Rosie and they are cute together. It was nice to see the “perfect Rosie” had trouble to talk to Alex.

The subject of Lucky Girl is important, people will probably tell that what happens to her is not awful or difficult but they are wrong. It’s as a teenager that all your fear end insecurity begins, it determines who you will be and you must pay attention because Teenagers are fragile.

Lucky Girl is the first book of Amanda Maciel I read, but I will definitely read Tease. I love these subjects and as a mother I’m interested by all these books. The style is great and the story is really interesting, I would have loved to see Rosie defends herself before but at the end she is doing it. The characters seem realistic enough and all these feelings made me cry more than one time.

Quick word: A great book to put in all your hands, teenagers or mothers.

About the author

Amanda Maciel has worked in book publishing since graduating from Mount Holyoke College and is currently a senior editor at Scholastic. She spends her free time writing, running, or riding the subway with her young son. She lives with him, her husband, and their cat, Ruby, in Brooklyn, New York. Tease is her first novel.

 

Amazon Goodreads

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Currently Reading

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 131 other followers

Windwitch Street team – Waterwitch Babes

Inks & Scratches Literary Magazine

2016 Finishing the Series Challenge

2016 Retelling Challenge

NetGalley Challenge

Challenge Participant

Xpresso

Xpresso Book Tours
%d bloggers like this: