Arc Review – Dividing Eden by Joelle Charbonneau

Leave a comment

June 4, 2017 by ceresbooksworld

 

Dividing Eden by Joelle Charbonneau

Book one in Dividing Eden series

Publisher: Harper Teen

Publication date: June 6th, 2017

Source: eArc from the publisher

Rating: 4 hearts

 

 

Synopsis

From the author of the New York Times bestselling Testing trilogy comes a sweeping new fantasy series, perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sarah J. Maas.

Twins Carys and Andreus were never destined to rule Eden. With their older brother next in line to inherit the throne, the future of the kingdom was secure.

But appearances—and rivals—can be deceiving. When Eden’s king and crown prince are killed by assassins, Eden desperately needs a monarch, but the line of succession is no longer clear. With a ruling council scheming to gain power, Carys and Andreus are faced with only one option—to take part in a Trial of Succession that will determine which one of them is worthy of ruling the kingdom.

As sister and brother, Carys and Andreus have always kept each other safe—from their secrets, from the court, and from the monsters lurking in the mountains beyond the kingdom’s wall. But the Trial of Succession will test the bonds of trust and family.

With their country and their hearts divided, Carys and Andreus will discover exactly what each will do to win the crown. How long before suspicion takes hold and the thirst for power leads to the ultimate betrayal?

Review

Eden is ruled by the king and queen, Micah the eldest son is the next in the rung to power, finally come Carys and Andreus, the twins. After the assassination of the king and Micah, the queen loses her head and renounces the throne, Carys and Andreus will have to fight to keep it in the family but also to know which of them will rise on this throne.

Carys is very clearly a character that I appreciate, she’s a little cold and distant but this is what her mother asked her to be in order to protect her brother who is sick. No one knows this and it’s of course the best kept secret of the kingdom. Carys is ready to do anything to protect her brother, including being punished with a whip if necessary. I love her strength of character and her integrity; I like the fact that she protects her brother even if clearly he doesn’t deserve it. She knows how to fight because Andreus has taught her and she is very talented.

Andreus is immature, he runs after the girls, is not interested in combat, he’s only interested in the winds that protects the kingdom and gives him energy. Even at the beginning of the book Andreus irritated me and the further I made was worse, his sister sacrificed for him and he betrayed her. He lets himself be manipulated by people and I cannot wait to see him take a beating in book two, and I hope that will be the case.

There are several interesting secondary characters, I’ll start with Garett, I find this character very mysterious, Carys doubts about his objective but I think he only wants her good and nothing else. Lord Errik is the romance side of the story even though it’s clearly very weak but I feel he hides things and even though I find him very sympathetic, I have huge doubts about him. I hope the author doesn’t reserve a Love Triangle in the next volume. Counselors and the Seer also have a very important role to play in history.

This first book makes us discover the universe and allows us to get to know Carys and Andreus. I chose my camp and I hope not to be disappointed in the next book.

I had never read a book by Joelle Charbonneau before, she wrote very well and even if the book was a bit slow at the start, after all accelerates and I had difficulty releasing it. It’s told by Carys and by Andreus, it’s good to see both points of view, but it didn’t change my opinion on Andreus.

Quick word: A first book that makes you want to discover the rest quickly.

About the author

Joelle has performed in opera and musical theater productions across Chicagoland. She now teaches private voice lessons and is the author of the New York Times best selling The Testing trilogy (The TestingIndependent Study, and Graduation Day) as well as two mystery series: The Rebecca Robbins mysteries and the Glee Club mysteries. Her YA books have appeared on the Indie Next List, on the YALSA Top 10 books for 2014 as well as the YALSA Quick Picks for reluctant readers.

Want to learn more? Click HERE to the Videos page.

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Currently Reading

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 154 other followers

Windwitch Street team – Waterwitch Babes

Inks & Scratches Literary Magazine

2016 Finishing the Series Challenge

2016 Retelling Challenge

NetGalley Challenge

Challenge Participant

Xpresso

Xpresso Book Tours
%d bloggers like this: