Arc review – Ruthless Magic by Megan Crewe

Leave a comment

June 9, 2018 by ceresbooksworld

 

Ruthless Magic by Megan Crewe

Book one in Conspiracy of Magic

Publisher: Another World Press

Publication date: May 30th, 2018

Cover Designer : J.M Rising Horses Creations

Source: eArc via Netgalley

Rating: 4 hearts

 

Synopsis

In the contest to keep their magic, the only options may be die… or kill.

Each year, the North American Confederation of Mages assesses every sixteen-year-old novice. Some will be chosen. The rest must undergo a procedure to destroy their magical ability unless they prove themselves in the mysterious and brutal Mages’ Exam.

Disadvantaged by her parents’ low standing, Rocío Lopez has dedicated herself to expanding her considerable talent to earn a place in the Confederation. Their rejection leaves her reeling—and determined to fight to keep her magic.

Long ashamed of his mediocre abilities, Finn Lockwood knows the Confederation accepted him only because of his prominent family. Declaring for the Exam instead means a chance to confirm his true worth.

Thrown into the testing with little preparation, Rocío and Finn find themselves becoming unlikely allies—and possibly more. But the Exam holds secrets more horrifying than either could have imagined. What are the examiners really testing them for? And as the trials become increasingly vicious, how much are they willing to sacrifice to win?

The first in a new series by USA Today bestselling author Megan Crewe, Ruthless Magic combines the magic of Harry Potter with the ferocity of The Hunger Games alongside a poignant romance. Fans of Cassandra Clare and Holly Black, look no further for your next urban fantasy fix!

Review

Ruthless Magic is told by Rocio and Finn, magicians have been revealed to the world, those who are not chosen see their powers reduced to a minimum unless they choose to take the magic exam. If they pass this exam they become champions and if they do not, the confederation of magic withdraws their powers entirely.

Finn comes from an old family of magicians, yet his powers are not extraordinary, despite everything he’s chosen but when he discovers that his best friend, who has much more talent than him but who doesn’t come from a family of magicians, was not chosen but will pass the exam, he makes the choice to follow her.

Rocio comes from a new magician’s family but she lives in a poor neighborhood and her parents who were not chosen have seen part of their powers disappear. Her brother chose to take the exam three years ago and never came back. Rocio has so many questions, her powers are enormous and yet she has not been chosen, so she will take the exam. She suspects something’s up, but she doesn’t know what.

I liked this story, Finn is a charming boy, he knows he doesn’t deserve his place among the elected and he will try to change things. I liked his strength of character, he does not want to feel weak and be helped but unfortunately he has no choice.

I loved Rocio, she is very intelligent, she wants to be a magician but she quickly understands that the new magicians are not well seen by the confederation. I also love her tenderness and vulnerability. They all discover horrible things during this exam and they will come out changed forever.

It’s Megan Crewe’s first book I’ve read and I’ve really been caught up in the story, I look forward to having the second book and seeing how Rocio and Finn come out of it. .

Quick word: A magical story full packed in action and intensity.

Chronique

Ruthless Magic est raconté par Rocio et Finn, les magiciens ont été révélés au monde, ceux qui ne sont pas choisis voit leurs pouvoirs réduits au minimum sauf si ils choisissent de passer l’examen de magie. Si ils réussissent cet examen ils deviennent champion et dans le cas contraire la confédération des mages leurs retirent entièrement leurs pouvoirs.

Finn vient d’une grande famille de magicien, pourtant ses pouvoirs ne sont pas extraordinaires, malgré tout il est accepté choisi mais lorsqu’il découvre que sa meilleure amie, qui a beaucoup plus de talent que lui mais qui ne vient pas d’une famille de magiciens, n’a pas été choisi mais va passer l’examen, il fait le choix de la suivre.

Rocio vient d’une famille de magicien mais elle vit dans un quartier pauvre et ses parents n’ayant pas été choisi ont vu disparaitre une partie de leurs pouvoirs. Son frère a choisi il y a 3 ans de passer l’examen et n’en ai jamais revenu. Rocio a donc pleins de questions, ses pouvoirs sont énormes et pourtant elle n’a pas été choisie, elle va donc passer l’examen. Elle se doute que quelque chose se trame mais elle ne sait pas quoi.

J’ai bien aimé cette histoire, Finn est un garçon charmant, il sait qu’il ne mérite pas sa place parmi les élus et il va essayer de changer les choses. J’ai aimé sa force de caractère, il ne veut pas se sentir faible et être aidé mais malheureusement il n’a pas le choix.

J’ai adoré Rocio, elle est très intelligente, elle veut être magicienne mais elle comprend vite que les nouveaux magiciens ne sont pas bien vus par la confédération. J’aime aussi sa tendresse et sa vulnérabilité. Ils découvrent tous des choses horribles pendant cet examen et ils vont en sortir changés à tout jamais.

C’est le premier livre de Megan Crewe que je lis et j’ai vraiment été happée dans l’histoire, j’attends d’avoir le deuxième tome avec impatience et de voir comment Rocio et Finn vont s’en sortir.

 

About the author

Like many authors, Megan Crewe finds writing about herself much more difficult than making things up. A few definite facts: she lives in Toronto, Canada with her husband and son (and does on occasion say “eh”), she tutors children and teens with special needs, and she’s spent the last six years studying kung fu, so you should probably be nice to her. She has been making up stories about magic and spirits and other what ifs since before she knew how to write words on paper. These days the stories are just a lot longer.

Megan’s first novel, GIVE UP THE GHOST, was shortlisted for the Sunburst Award for Canadian Literature of the Fantastic. Her second, THE WAY WE FALL, was nominated for the White Pine Award and made the International Reading Association Young Adults’ Choices List. Her Fallen World trilogy (THE WAY WE FALL, THE LIVES WE LOST, THE WORLDS WE MAKE) is now complete and she has a new trilogy forthcoming in October 2014, beginning with EARTH & SKY. Her books have been published in translation in several countries around the world. She has also published short stories in magazines such as On Spec and Brutarian Quarterly.

Links

GOODREADS – AMAZON

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Currently Reading

Windwitch Street team – Waterwitch Babes

Inks & Scratches Literary Magazine

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 269 other followers

Partenaires

Xpresso

Xpresso Book Tours
%d bloggers like this: