Review – Beyond the break by Heather Buchta

Leave a comment

October 10, 2020 by ceresbooksworld

Beyond the break by Heather Buchta

Standalone

Publisher : Penguin

Publication date : June 2nd, 2020

Source : Paperback

Rating : 4 hearts

Synopsis

For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, if you count her faith… and that’s where things may get complicated.

Manhattan Beach native Lovette has two rules in life. One: no surfing. Not after her brother’s accident. Two: absolutely, no dating. And going into her junior year of high school, she’s pretty happy with that arrangement. She has friends, her church youth group, and God to fall back on when things get dicey. But after Jake Evans walks into her life, following these two simple rules gets a lot more complicated.

Jake is the boy from Lovette’s childhood who grew up. Handsome and sweet, he unlocks the part of Lovette that wants nothing more than to surf the waves again. And as their relationship grows, she begins to question what it means to be faithful: to her family, to God, but mostly, to herself.

Told with humor and heart, Heather Buchta delivers a sparkling debut that asks the question: Can you fall in love, be a teenager, and also be a good Christian?

Review

Beyond the break tells us the story of Lovette, a religious girl who lost her brother in a tragic surfing accident. Since then, Lovette is no longer allowed to go into the ocean even though she loves it. Her parents are very strict about it. However, that doesn’t stop her from going, on the sly.

Everything will change with the arrival of Jake, he has known Lovette since childhood and he remembers that she was good on a board. He’s going to try to give her back her confidence and her future. Lovette will start to question these beliefs.

I liked this story a lot, Lovette sometimes annoyed me but in the end we understand her emotions and her reluctance very well.

I enjoyed the moments between Jack and Lovette, they get to know each other, trust each other and they both grow out of this relationship.

Quick word: An engaging book that leads to a path of faith.

Chronique

Beyond the break nous raconte l’histoire de Lovette, une jeune fille croyante qui a perdu son frère dans un tragique accident de surf. Depuis Lovette n’a plus le droit d’aller dans l’océan même si elle adore cela. Ses parents sont très stricts à ce sujet. Cependant, cela ne l’empêche pas d’y aller, en cachette.

Tout va changer avec l’arrivée de Jake, il connait Lovette depuis l’enfance et il se souvient qu’elle était douée sur une planche. Il va essayer de lui redonner confiance en elle et en son avenir. Lovette va commencer à se poser des questions sur ces croyances.

J’ai beaucoup aimé cette histoire, Lovette m’a parfois agacée mais au final on comprend très bien ses émotions et ses réticences.

J’ai apprécié les moments entre Jack et Lovette, ils apprennent à se connaitre, à se faire confiance et ils sortent grandis tous les deux de cette relation.

En bref : Un livre prenant qui emmène vers un chemin de foi.

Links

Goodreads : https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/50165515-beyond-the-break?from_search=true&from_srp=true&qid=Y4mMOnDMeS&rank=1

Amazon : https://www.amazon.com/Beyond-Break-Heather-Buchta/dp/0593097017/ref=sr_1_1?dchild=1&keywords=beyond+the+break&qid=1601809553&sr=8-1

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Currently Reading

Inks & Scratches Literary Magazine

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,043 other followers

Team Agnes #TeamAgnes #AgnesAtTheEndOfTheWorld

Partenaires

Xpresso

Xpresso Book Tours

Windwitch Street team – Waterwitch Babes

%d bloggers like this: